My Top three fav. skaters. number 1

I came up with the idea of dedicating three posts to my top three skaters of all time. Now a little background info I’m 22 years old so the skaters that were my hero’s as a kid may not still be considered the best of the best today, and remember i said may. However, these guys are legends and deffintly had an incredible impact on progressing skateboarding to where it is today.  The man of this page is Tom Penny. Everyone knows the more stylish a trick is the more golden it looks. And Mr. Penny created more gold then the federal reserve……yah that was lame. But Penny is definitely the king of style. I think he the best kickflip in the industry. We all know that Reynolds has the best front side flips, and I’ve got much love for Andrew, but I like how Penny flicks his better. Penny was never the most technical skater, but when normal people performed tricks, Penny created art.    How about that chained of bank, Penny absolutely killed that spot. just check out this vid.

Switch backside flip down to bank,  absolutely insane. I think after that session that spot should have been permanently closed off.  But it wasn’t, I know at least one kid kickfliped the whole thing to flat, which definitely shows progression considering Penny killed this spot back in 96, but at the same time I find it a little bit disrespectful. There’s plently of other spots so why try to take the Kings Crown, I know the dudes just trying to get his name out there, and skateboarding wouldn’t be at the level it is without competition. But in this case, I think this spot should have been left to Penny.    I’m sure other’s will argue with me on that

Here’s a link to the “art” of Tom Penny

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

